May 2023 — Graduating students in the class of 2023 were recognized for their service and accomplishments during the Dickinson Law Graduating Student Awards Ceremony held Thursday, May 11, 2023.

Dean and Donald J. Farage Professor of Law Danielle M. Conway presided over the ceremony held to celebrate the tremendous accomplishments of our students. “You are part of a 190-year legacy of service to the legal profession,” Conway reminded the class of 2023. “Today, we recognize your intellect, resilience, grit, and commitment to the Dickinson Law community.”

Ezza Ahmed and Schenley Kent were selected by their classmates as Lee Popp Award recipients. This honor recognizes students selected by the third-year class who exemplify excellence in service, extra-curricular activities, and devotion to their class.

Throughout her time in law school, Ezza has been highly involved in student life and each year has held a position in the Student Bar Association: as a representative during 1L year, the vice president during 2L year, and this year as the president of the Student Bar Association where she has led the student body in promoting involvement, being a mentor, and serving as a liaison between students and the faculty and administration. Ezza has also been involved in over half a dozen student organizations including her role as founder and President of Middle Eastern and South Asian Law Students Association, co-founder and co-music director for Hearsay a cappella group, and most recently the founding of the Federal Bar Association at Penn State Dickinson Law. She has also hosted and participated in two human trafficking awareness events, provided insight as an Orientation panelist, and has been a volunteer Court Appointed Special Advocate for two years. During nominations, her classmates commented on Ezza’s contributions to the law school saying, “I don’t know how she has the time to do it all!” and “She is committed to students having the full law school experience.”

Schenley has also been very active and involved in the law school community since she arrived in Fall 2020. She is a member of several affinity student organizations. Specifically, Schenley has served on the executive boards for both the Black Law Students Association and Student Bar Association where she served as an executive board member for both organizations during her second year. In her role as Student Bar Association Social committee chair, she organized the post-pandemic return of the Barrister’s Ball in 2022 and again, most recently in 2023. These events truly brought the class together after such a disconnected and distant time. Schenley also has served as a Law Lion Ambassador and shares her law school life with prospective students. After graduation, Schenley will begin her legal career in the Harrisburg area with TE Connectivity Corporation. In nominating Schenley for this honor, her classmates frequently noted her ability to create community and togetherness at Penn State Dickinson Law, how she always goes above and beyond, and that she is altogether an exemplary student and exceptional individual.

View a slideshow of the Awards Ceremony.



George F. Douglas Jr. Memorial Prize
Lauren Hand

Miller Center Distinguished Advocate Award
Aranda Stathers

Miller Center Advocate of the Year
Aranda Stathers

Dickinson Law Vision and Leadership Award
Minh Eric Le
Foday Turay

Membership in the Order of Barristers
Ezza Ahmed
Matts Batryn
Blaze Campbell
Jacob Guthrie
Talia Kowalski
Millie Krnjaja
Scott Lovejoy
Aranda Stathers
Heather Townsend

American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers Eric D. Turner Award
Megan M. Moore

Jack M. Mumford Memorial Health Law Scholarship
Lauren Elizabeth Stahl

Monroe E. Trout Law and Medicine Award
Mohammed Saleem

George I. Bloom Scholarship Endowed Fund Award
Cassidy Gabrielle Eckrote

Edward N. Polisher Endowed Award
Pranita Dhungana

Frank A. and Dorothy J. Sinon Scholarship for Excellence in Tax Law
Taylor M. Haberle

Thomas A. Beckley Prize for Legal Writing
Abigail Britton

M. Vashti Burr Memorial Award
Cassidy Gabrielle Eckrote

Carter Prize
Phyillis Wanjiru Macharia

Commonwealth Historical Society Judge Alexander F. Barbieri Award for Excellence in Administrative Law
Julia Lexa Martinez

M. Fletcher Gornall and Elsie O. Gornall Scholarship
Cassidy Gabrielle Eckrote

Professor Louis Del Duca Memorial Award
Millie Krnjaja

D. Arthur Magaziner Human Services Award
Aranda Stathers

Robert J. and Mary Ellen Landy Award
Sara Carnahan

Conrad A. and Rocco C. Falvello Memorial Award
Daniel Morgenroth

Joseph Leyburn Kramer Award
Lauren Elizabeth Stahl

American Law Institute Continuing Legal Education Scholastic and Leadership Award
Aranda Stathers

Clinical Legal Education Association Outstanding Clinic Student Award
Mallory Nicole Turner

Adele and Leonard Blumberg Scholarship
Sara Carnahan

Harry E. Kalodner Memorial Award
Cassidy Gabrielle Eckrote

Phillip M. Scott Excellence in Teaching, Leadership, and Staff Excellence Award
Amy C. Gaudion, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Lawyering Skills

Michael A. Mogill, Professor of Law

Phillip M. Scott Excellence in Leadership Award
Danielle M. Conway, Dean and Donald J. Farage Professor of Law

Kelly R. Rimmer, Director of Development and Alumni Affairs