February 19, 2020 — Dickinson Law students are offering free tax preparation services to people with low and fixed incomes, people who have disabilities or special needs, and senior citizens aged 60 or older on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6 to 9 p.m. from February 4 through March 31 at Dickinson Law, Lewis Katz Hall, Carlisle, Pa. All interested individuals should schedule an appointment by calling 717-240-5130.

Volunteer Income Tax Assistance offeredTax assistance is offered to qualified residents of Carlisle and surrounding communities through the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) program sponsored by the IRS. All Dickinson Law student volunteers are certified by the IRS and are trained to identify taxpayer eligibility for certain tax credits, including the Earned Income Tax Credit, Child Tax Credit, Dependent Care Credit, and Credit for the Elderly.

Student volunteers will prepare and electronically file federal, state, and local tax returns. Taxpayers must bring photo identification and Social Security cards for self, spouse, and dependents; all tax forms, including W-2s and 1099s; any other relevant information about income and expenses; and bank routing number(s) and account number(s) for direct deposit of any tax refund due.

The tax clinic is located in Rooms 112 of Lewis Katz Hall, 150 South College Street, Carlisle. For directions, visit the law school’s website. Taxpayers may park in the faculty parking lot at the corner of South and College streets and should use the front entrance by the columns on College Street. An accessible entrance with an elevator is located at ground level of the building labeled Trickett Hall to the left of the stairs and columns.

The tax clinic will be closed on March 5, March 10 and March 12.

This is the 37th year that student volunteers from Dickinson Law are offering free tax preparation services. Since 2003, student volunteers have prepared more than 5,000 federal, state, and local tax returns for taxpayers, plus their spouses and dependents, residing in Cumberland, Perry, Dauphin, York, Franklin, and Adams counties.